Advocacy in Action

Hard Hats for Little Heads: Bexar County Medical Society Alliance (BCMSA) has organized a Hard Hats for Little Heads event every year for the past 10 years. Almost 1,000 helmets have been fitted and given to Bexar County children. In 2019, BCMSA is hosting two more helmet giveaways. To learn more, email Varda Ratner.

Holiday Toy Drive: 54 stuffed animals were given to the University Hospital Pediatric Emergency Room.

HPV Immunizations: BCMSA was awarded $2,500 from TMA Foundation to provide HPV vaccinations in conjunction with SA Metro Health.


Doctor’s Day: $2,600 donated to local domestic violence awareness organizations.

BCMSA raises money throughout the year for its philanthropic efforts, such as Hard Hats for Little Heads, breast cancer research, and NICU units.

Allied Health Scholarships: To celebrate their Centennial, BCMSA partnered with Bexar County Medical Society Foundation (a 501(c)3 non-profit organization), CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System, and Neiman Marcus, as well as community members and leaders, to raise scholarship funds for Bexar County college students pursuing careers in an Allied Health field (e.g. nursing, pharmacy, optometry, physical therapy, etc.).

First Tuesdays at the Capitol:
 Every year, when the legislative session takes place, the BCMSA organizes a caravan of Alliance members, physicians, medical students and residents to attend First Tuesdays at the Capitol in Austin. Please contact Jenny Shepherd if you would like to attend.

Leadership & Contact

President: Danielle Henkes
Nichole Eckmann
Membership VP: Taylor Frantz
Communications VP: Alyse Garber Craun
Programs VP: Virginia Profenna
Civic & Philanthropic VP: Aleida Colen
Social VP:
Ryan Ramos
Cheryl Pierce-Szender
Recording Secretary: Jennifer Torres
Corresponding Secretary:  Jazmin Gibbons
Parliamentarian: Rebecca Christopherson
Presidential Advisors: Lori Boies, Jennifer Lewis, & Jenny Shepherd

Bexar County Medical Society Alliance
4334 N. Loop 1604 W.
San Antonio, TX 78249

Upcoming Events

To view a calendar of upcoming events, click here.