TMA Alliance Advocacy

TMA Alliance members support and participate in the legislative process on behalf of the Family of Medicine. Whether meeting with their legislators on issues that impact patients and physicians or working to support medicine-friendly candidates, alliance members are strong advocates for the united voice of medicine.

Advocacy Opportunities

First Tuesdays at the Capitol

Each legislative year, members of the Family of Medicine are empowered and take action as political advocates through First Tuesdays at the Capitol. On designated days during the legislative session, more than 1,000 physicians, alliance members, and medical students converge on the Capitol to meet with their legislators regarding important health issues. This award-winning grassroots lobbying program was started by the TMA Alliance in 2003.

TMA Moment in Time: First Tuesdays at the Capitol
House Recognizes TMA Alliance on First Tuesdays’ 20th Anniversary

First Tuesday Commemorative Scarves, Neckties

Celebrate 20 years of First Tuesdays with a commemorative scarf or necktie. The scarves/ties make great door prizes or gifts. Local alliances can place a bulk order to be shipped, and the scarves/ties will be available for purchase at TMAA events and TMA conferences. Cost is $25 each.

Party of Medicine

Local alliances and individual members host Party of Medicine events in their local communities. This peer-to-peer education and recruiting tool brings together members of the Family of Medicine in a relaxed, social setting to explain the importance of supporting the practice of medicine through advocacy.


TMA Alliance members align with physicians as members of TEXPAC, TMA’s political action committee, to protect Texas patients through political education and activism. TEXPAC’s June Bratcher Award for Political Action recognizes the outstanding efforts of a physician’s spouse on behalf of the Texas Medical Association. The award is named in honor of Ms. Bratcher, a longtime TEXPAC alliance leader and political trailblazer. See past honorees and a history of the award.

Alliance Representatives to TEXPAC Board of Directors

Lisa Allen, DO, Smith
Christel Chase, Tarrant
Lisa Drever, Smith
Karin Foster, Travis
Keely Hunsaker, Nueces
Jennifer Lewis, Bexar
Sunshine Moore, Nueces
Sharon Robinson, Lubbock
Jenny Shepherd, Bexar
Elizabeth Vanexan, Nueces
Martha Vijjeswarapu, Bexar
Libby White, Lubbock